Is shellac halal (permissible) to consume in Islam? Shellac is a natural gum resin secreted on trees by the lac bug. It’s used as an ingredient and coating in food.
Eating insects or anything from them is commonly considered khabith ( filthy) and hence it is haram (forbidden) to consume them. Therefore, if shellac is used as a coating in food such as coating an apple, it must be washed off before eating the apple.
However, consuming shellac for medical treatment – as it may be found in some iron tablets – is permissible if there is no alternative treatment.
Answered by: Sheikh Mansour Leghaei
For more Q&As on Food & Drink please see here